UAF Biology & Wildlife BannerUAF Biology & Wildlife BannerUAF Biology & Wildlife Banner
 
Need to update your information? Go to the IAB Submit Info form.
 

Biology and Wildlife Graduate Students

Photo of Robin Andrews

Robin Andrews (Ph.D.)

rnandrews@alaska.edu

407 IRV 1

907.474.7906

Research Interests: Soil Microarthropods, Acarology, Nutrient Cycling, Nutritional Ecology, and Successional Processes

Major Professor: Roger Ruess

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Derek Arnold

Derek Arnold (Ph.D.)

darnold10@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Knut Kielland

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Janelle Badger

Janelle Badger (Ph.D.)

jjbadger@alaska.edu

323 Murie Building

Research Interests: Life history and demography of grey seals breeding on Sable Island, Nova Scotia--individual heterogeneity in reproductive success.

Major Professor: Greg Breed

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Christina Baker

Christina Baker (Ph.D.)

clbaker5@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Jeremy Jones

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Christopher Barger

Christopher (Chris) Barger (Ph.D.)

cpbarger@alaska.edu

214 WRRB

907.474.6232

Major Professor: Mark Lindberg

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Amelia Beausoleil

Amelia Beausoleil (M.S.)

arbeausoleil@alaska.edu

419 IRV 1

Research Interests: Raven behavior

Major Professor: Falk Huettmann

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Tynan Becker

Tynan Becker (Ph.D.)

tabecker@alaska.edu

223 Murie Building

Research Interests: The mechanisms of antigen presentation.

Major Professor: Andrea Ferrante

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Maile Branson

Maile Branson (Ph.D.)

mabranson2@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Eric Bortz, Falk Huettmann

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Laura Brosius

Laura Brosius (Ph.D.)

lsbrosius@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Syndonia Bret-Harte

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Melanie Burnett

Melanie Burnett (M.S.)

msburnett@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Tamara Harms

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Jeremy Buttler

Jeremy Buttler (Ph.D.)

jdbuttler@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Eric Bortz, Jack Chen, Devin Drown

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Matthew Cameron

Matthew Cameron (Ph.D.)

mcamero6@alaska.edu

323G Murie Building

Research Interests: My research interests are in the movement ecology of large mammals and my current work is focused on the spatial ecology of caribou of the Western Arctic Herd here in Alaska. I am specifically working toward 1) using GPS data to detect calving events, 2) investigating annual patterns at the individual and herd levels in calving area utilization, 3) identifying the influence of abiotic factors on fall migration, and 4) investigating the effects of space use on individual fitness.

Major Professor: Knut Kielland

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Iris Cato

Iris Cato (M.S.)

iacato@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Roger Ruess, Diana Wolf

Affiliations: AKCFWRU, B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Kathleen Collier

Kathleen Collier (M.S.)

kacollier@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Kevin Winker

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, UAMN

 
Photo of Stephanie Crawford

Stephanie Crawford (M.S.)

sgcrawford@alaska.edu

470 Duck

Research Interests: Broadly, I am interested in techniques used to assess wildlife and ecosystem health status. Specifically, I am measuring plasma metabolites in Steller sea lion pups on Russian and Alaskan rookeries (1990-2015); the profile generated allows us to assess nutritional stress, which is often proposed as an explanation for population declines and/or non-recovery. These results are paired with morphometric body condition indices and evaluated with respect to the population trajectories in each distinct population segment.

Major Professor: Robert Coker

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Martha Cummings

Martha (Mara) Cummings (M.S.)

mmcummings@alaska.edu

223L Murie Building

Research Interests: I am interested in community and behavioral ecology, specifically within arthropod communities. I hope to investigate mammal and insect herbivore relationships, focusing on aspen or willow leaf blotch miners.

Major Professor: Knut Kielland, Diane Wagner

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Cody Deane

Cody Deane (Ph.D.)

cdeane2@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Mark Lindberg

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Else Demeulenaere

Else Demeulenaere (Ph.D.)

endemeulenaere@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Steffi Ickert-Bond

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Stephanie DeRonde

Stephanie DeRonde (M.S.)

sderonde@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Jack Chen

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Jackson Drew

Jackson Drew (M.S.)

jwdrew@alaska.edu

Research Interests: I am studying the dendroecological signal of Alnus viridus fruticosa and its relationship with three other arctic plants.

Major Professor: Syndonia Bret-Harte

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, TFS

 
Photo of Cassandra Duncan

Cassandra Duncan (M.S.)

cmduncan3@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Cory Williams

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Elizabeth Ford

Elizabeth Ford (M.S.)

erford@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Mark Lindberg

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Robert Gabbitas

Robert Gabbitas (Ph.D.)

rwgabbitas@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Plant Systematics, Phylogeography, Post-Pleistocene diversification and colonization of high latitude flora.

Major Professor: Steffi Ickert-Bond

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, UAMN

 
Photo of Thomas Glass

Thomas Glass (Ph.D.)

trglass2@alaska.edu

417 IRV 1

Research Interests: I am interested in how climate change and intraguild dynamics influence behavior and habitat selection in arctic carnivores. Specifically, I'm working to understand how wolverines use snow as a structural feature of their habitat on Alaska's North Slope.

Major Professor: Knut Kielland

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, TFS

 
Photo of Nathan Graff

Nathan Graff (M.S.)

nrgraff@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Mark Lindberg

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Emilia Grzesik

Emilia Grzesik (M.S.)

ejgrzesik@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Teresa Hollingsworth, Roger Ruess

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Tracie Haan

Tracie Haan (M.S.)

tjhaan@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Devin Drown

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Adam Haberski

Adam Haberski (M.S.)

ahaberski@alaska.edu

Research Interests: My research focuses on the diversity and distribution of arthropods along elevational gradients in Denali National Park.

Major Professor: Derek Sikes

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, UAMN

 
Photo of Calvin Heslop

Calvin Heslop (M.S.)

cheslop@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Roger Ruess

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Frances Iannucci

Frances Iannucci (M.S.)

fiannucc@gmail.com

Major Professor: Jeremy Jones

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Michelle Johannsen

Michelle Johannsen (Ph.D.)

mmjohannsen@alaska.edu

323A Murie Building

Major Professor: Robert Coker

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Michael Johns

Michael Johns (Ph.D.)

mejohns3@alaska.edu

https://www.michaelejohns.com/

323 Murie Building

Research Interests: Generally, I am interested in the spatial ecology and movement of seabirds once they depart their breeding colonies, and the ways in which oceanographic variability affects seabird productivity. Specifically, my masters work will address questions related to age-specific reproductive strategies of Cassin's auklets, along with their winter dispersal patterns from Southeast Farallon Island, California.

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Charlene Johnson

Charlene Johnson (Ph.D.)

ccjohnson12@alaska.edu

Research Interests: I am studying the ecohydrology of alpine headwaters in the Chugach Mountains. I aim to produce higher order description of the characteristics and functions of depressional, slope, and swale wetlands associated with alpine headwater drainages. I will also develop a research program to assess the effects of naturally occurring and anthropogenic impacts to alpine headwaters and headwater wetlands; and ultimately assess the strength of the role headwater wetlands have in watershed dynamics, particularly in downstream developed areas. This effort will help to support land use and management strategies in alpine valleys of the Richardson Training Areas located in the Chugach Mountains, Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska.

Major Professor: Jeremy Jones

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Devin Johnson

Devin Johnson (Ph.D.)

dljohnson8@alaska.edu

323i Murie Building

Research Interests: Gyrfalcon ecophysiology and diet on the Seward Peninsula.

Major Professor: Cory Williams

Affiliations: ABNP, B&W

 
Photo of Jessica Johnson

Jessica Johnson (Ph.D.)

jjjohnson20@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Diane O'Brien

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Cade Kellam

Cade Kellam (M.S.)

cwkellam@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Todd Brinkman

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Kara Kornhauser

Kara Kornhauser (M.S.)

kkornhauser@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Christa Mulder

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Brandon Kowalski

Brandon Kowalski (M.S.)

bkowalski@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Robert Coker, Abel Bult-Ito

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Matthew Kynoch

Matthew Kynoch (M.S.)

mckynoch@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Knut Kielland, Cory Williams

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Scott Leorna

Scott Leorna (Ph.D.)

sleorna@alaska.edu

sites.google.com/a/alaska.edu/todd-j-brinkman/

323 Murie Building

Research Interests: My interdisciplinary research focuses on advancing knowledge on the distribution and movement of North Slope caribou. Currently, I'm working on a citizen science caribou project that engages hunting guides/transporters, wildlife viewing companies, other researchers, and the public, and integrates their field experience and knowledge into assessments of Central Arctic Caribou behavior and distribution. We intend to use information gathered through this project and data collected from caribou with GPS collars to assess caribou distribution in areas readily accessible to hunters during the hunting season. I’m particularly interested in providing opportunities for the public to participate and engage in wildlife research.

Major Professor: Todd Brinkman

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Jon Martin

Jon Martin (Ph.D.)

jon.martin@uas.alaska.edu

Research Interests: Systematics, migration, distribution, and disease in the order Chiroptera of SE AK

Major Professor: Todd Brinkman

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, UAMN

 
Photo of Luke Metherell

Luke Metherell (M.S.)

lmetherell@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Todd Brinkman

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Kendall Mills

Kendall Mills (Ph.D.)

kkmills@alaska.edu

013 Museum

Research Interests: Phenotypic plasticity in mammals, gene expression, climate change biology.

Major Professor: Link Olson

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, UAMN

 
Photo of Claire Montgomerie

Claire Montgomerie (M.S.)

ckmontgomerie@alaska.edu

408 IRV 1

Research Interests: My research investigates factors contributing to the lynx-snowshoe hare cycle in Northern Alaska.

Major Professor: Knut Kielland

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Elizabeth Nicklen

Elizabeth (Fleur) Nicklen (Ph.D.)

efnicklen@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Roger Ruess

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Kristin Olson

Kristin Olson (Ph.D.)

kolson39@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Jeremy Jones

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Ann Olsson

Ann Olsson (Ph.D.)

akolsson@alaska.edu

907.474.6777

Research Interests: Permafrost soil science

Major Professor: Jeremy Jones

Affiliations: B&W, BNZ-LTER, IAB

 
Photo of Megan Perra

Megan Perra (M.S.)

meperra@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Todd Brinkman

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Gwendolyn Quigley

Gwendolyn Quigley (M.S.)

gmquigley@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Todd Brinkman

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Anna Rix

Anna Rix (Ph.D.)

asrix@alaska.edu

323 Murie Building

Major Professor: Kristin O'Brien

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Matthew Rogers

Matthew Rogers (Ph.D.)

mcr@uaa.alaska.edu

Major Professor: Perry Barboza

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Audrey Rowe

Audrey Rowe (Ph.D.)

agrowe@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Matthew Wooller

Affiliations: B&W

 
Photo of Catherine Rubin

Catherine Rubin (Ph.D.)

cerubin@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Link Olson

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, UAMN

 
Photo of Abigail Schiffmiller

Abigail Schiffmiller (M.S.)

awschiffmiller@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Greg Breed

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Taylor Seitz

Taylor Seitz (M.S.)

tjseitz@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Devin Drown

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Fern Spaulding

Fern Spaulding (M.S.)

fspaulding@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Kevin Winker

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Annalisa Stephens

Annalisa Stephens (M.S.)

astephens@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Syndonia Bret-Harte

Affiliations: B&W, Greenhouse, IAB, TFS

 
Photo of Sarah Swanson

Sarah Swanson (M.S.)

scswanson2@alaska.edu

Research Interests: Overwinter survival and other factors affecting population cycle amplitude in voles.

Major Professor: Knut Kielland

Affiliations: IAB

 
Photo of Miranda Theriot

Miranda Theriot (M.S.)

mktheriot@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Link Olson

Affiliations: B&W, IAB, UAMN

 
Photo of Giovanni Tundo

Giovanni Tundo (M.S.)

gtundo@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Pat Doak

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Elyssa Watford

Elyssa Watford (Ph.D.)

emwatford@alaska.edu

208 IRV 1

Research Interests: Physiology of Pacific Common Eiders breeding along the Beaufort Sea coast of Alaska. Specifically focused on energetics in relation to nest microclimate and climate change.

Affiliations: AKCFWRU, B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Sasha White

Sasha White (M.S.)

skjohnson6@alaska.edu

2W06 AHRB

907.474.6677

Research Interests: Alaska Native health with a focus on the Alaska Native traditional diet.

Major Professor: Andrej Podlutsky

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Wilhelm Wiese

Wilhelm Wiese (M.S.)

wlwiese@alaska.edu

208 IRV 1

Research Interests: Breeding ecology of common eiders in the Beaufort Sea.

Major Professor: Mark Lindberg

Affiliations: AKCFWRU, B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Robert Williams

Robert Williams (M.S.)

rtwilliams2@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Andrej Podlutsky

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Rachel Willis (Voight)

Rachel Willis (Voight) (M.S.)

rlvoight@alaska.edu

019 AHRB

Research Interests: Permafrost hydrology and inorganic carbon export in boreal forest streams.

Major Professor: Jeremy Jones

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Robert Wiltzen

Robert Wiltzen (M.S.)

rwiltzen@alaska.edu

Research Interests: The reproductive ecology of rock ptarmigan in interior Alaska. Specifically examining factors of temporal and spatial variation in three reproductive parameters; breeding probability, nesting success, and brood survival.

Major Professor: Mark Lindberg

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Mark Winterstein

Mark Winterstein (M.S.)

mawinterstein@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Teresa Hollingsworth, Donald Walker

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Allison Woodward

Allison Woodward (Ph.D.)

adbutler@alaska.edu

Major Professor: Richard D. Boone, Gary Kofinas

Affiliations: B&W, IAB

 
Photo of Jiake Zhou

Jiake (DJ) Zhou (Ph.D.)

jzhou2@alaska.edu

323 Murie Building

Research Interests: My research explores scenarios of changes in shrub habitats under climate change in the Arctic Alaska, and the implications to communities of wildlife and indigenous residents.

Major Professor: Knut Kielland, Gary Kofinas

Affiliations: B&W, BNZ-LTER, IAB

 

University of Alaska Fairbanks Department of Biology and Wildlife ©2010-20

101 Murie      907.474.7671       uaf-bw-dept@alaska.edu


All images courtesy of UAF Biology & Wildlife unless otherwise noted.
U/N
P/W
The University of Alaska Fairbanks is an AA/EO employer and educational institution and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual.
Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.